This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of these cookies.
Campus Life

Equity and Inclusion

    • Diverse group of Tabor students

Equity, Inclusion and Community Life

Tabor is committed to creating an anti-racist learning community in which all members have a voice, are given respect, and see their identities reflected and affirmed in the curriculum, co-curriculum, and physical and virtual environments of the school.

Community Life Goals

  • Highlight and celebrate the uniqueness among us
  • Foster sense of interconnectedness between us
  • Ensure equity throughout the Tabor community
  • Develop skills to strengthen identity development and cross-cultural dialogue and relationships through reflection and action
  • Initiate, build and nurture community connections to give Tabor students and faculty a more global experience.

Cultural Competency and Citizenship

Through the development of cultural competency, we seek to build a truthful and respectful dialogue across our community to build trust and collaboration within our school and with local, regional, national, and international communities. 

Get Involved 

Student leaders are heavily invested and involved in creating student programming to raise awareness of issues related to identity, equity, and social justice that particularly impact the student body. They regularly participate in dialogue, celebrations of national awareness, as well as attend local activist movements they are interested in. These activities are driven by their concerns and interests and supported by the faculty.

Join the Dialogue

The Office of Student Life sponsors a number of programs and events annually that afford members of the Tabor community with opportunities to engage with each other and to learn about and celebrate the beauty and variety within the human experience. We seek to identify the issues that most affect us and support ways we can create positive change while celebrating our life and work together. 

We Invest in People 

External consultants and organizations, like Diversity Directions, the Association for Independent Schools of New England, and the National Association for Independent Schools, the Center for Teaching and Learning, have provided excellent professional development opportunities for faculty and students that have helped guide our work. We are invested in annual attendance for students and faculty at the NAIS Student Diversity Leadership Conference and People of Color Conference, the AISNE High School Students of Color Conference, the Asian American Footsteps Conference, and the Gay, Lesbian, and Straight Education Network (GLSEN) Massachusetts Conference.

Statement of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion

To cultivate and sustain a more diverse and inclusive community, Tabor Academy recognizes that our success as a 21st century school is embedded in a genuine understanding of how the components of diversity reflect the core values of our mission, which is rooted in compassion, respect, trust, honesty, and personal responsibility.
Diversity at Tabor encompasses race, ethnicity, gender, socio-economic status, religion, intellectual and physical ability, gender expression, sexual orientation, age, family structure, language, and geographic place of origin. We recognize that the establishment of policies, practices, and programs that support the interconnectedness of these cultural identifiers and further develop the cultural competency of our community’s members will allow for true dialogue and collaboration within our school and with local, regional, national, and international communities.
To that end, we commit ourselves to being a community in which all members have voice, are given respect, and see their identities reflected and affirmed in the curriculum, co-curriculum, and physical and virtual environments of the school.

List of 1 members.

  • Photo of Loraine Snead

    Loraine Snead 

    Director of Equity and Inclusion

Recent Programming

List of 1 items.

  • On Campus Speakers

    • Michael Fosberg ("Incognito")
    • Dr. Kimberly Ellis (Writer, Activist, and Scholar)
    • Dr. Tiyi Morris (Historian/Author, Ohio State University)
    • Dr. Peniel Joseph (Historian/Author, Univ. Texas at Austin)
    • Rosetta Lee (Consultant, Educator, Activist)
    • Nyle Fort (Activist, Speaker, Ph.D. candidate Princeton University Department of Religion)
    • Jennifer Bryan (Consultant, Educator)
    • Andrew Forsthoefel (Author, "Walking to Listen")
    • Dennis Febo (Consultant, Activist) 
    • Bobby Petrocelli (Motivational Speaker)
    • Christian Picciolini (Anti-Hate/Peace Advocate)

List of 1 items.

  • Events, Clubs, Training and more

    For Students:
    • IDEA (Inclusion, Diversity, Equity, Awareness): A safe space to explore identity and share personal stories
    • DeBrief: A brave space to explore topics in a give and take fashion, learning to share and listen to ideas and opinions respectfully
    • Affinity groups
    • GSA 
    • IATG (I am that Girl): a group for boys and girls, focused on positive affirmation and action
    • NAIS Student Diversity Leadership Conference
    • AISNE High School Students of Color Conference
    • Asian American Footsteps Conference
    • Gay, Lesbian, and Straight Education Network (GLSEN) Massachusetts Conference
    • GAINS Conference
    • Cultural outings to New Bedford, Providence, and Boston
    • Interschool gatherings for networking and social activities
    • On-campus leadership training/coaching 
    For Faculty:
    • On-Campus Full-Faculty Training with outside consultants such as Jini Rae Sparkman, Christine Savini, Kevin Powell
    • White Fragility Conference (AISNE)
    • Anti-Racism Book Group
    • Affinity Groups
    • Girls Empowerment Discussion & Book Groups
    • NAIS People of Color Conference
    • Diversity Directions Conference
    • Stanley King Institute 
    • Multiple professional development options through AISNE, NAIS, TABS, Center for Teaching & Learning (CTTL)


Admissions Office: 226 Front Street, Marion MA 02738 | Mail: 66 Spring Street, Marion MA 02738 | 508.748.2000 |